The router will be needed to reset so that the user can restore the router back to its factory settings. Take note that if the router has been reset multiple times, it can damage the firmware of the router.
Here are the steps to reset the Netgear router:
- Locate the Reset button at the back of the router. It will be inside a very small hole. It might be labeled as Reset or Restore Factory Settings. The label might vary for different routers.
- Now, using a paper clip or something similar press and hold the reset button for about ten seconds.
- Release the reset button after ten seconds. The LED lights at the front of the router will start blinking. Once the power light becomes stable and green/white in color, the router will have been restored back to its factory settings.
Take note that there should not be any interference during the reset process as it can damage the router and might even render the router completely useless.